New Hope Church of Carlisle, Pa

Plug Into The Power of Prayer

September 5, 2014 – Spirit Led Prayer

Leave a comment

photo

September 5th the Holy Spirit began speaking to me about Spirit led prayer. You may be thinking to yourself, “how did she know it was the Holy Spirit”?

Well, for one thing I still remember the date.

Secondly, I would get awake with the thought, “Spirit led prayer releases God’s power”.

Thirdly, I’d go to bed asking the Holy Spirit to show me and teach me more about Spirit led prayer.

Today is December 6th and the Holy Spirit is opening up some scripture verses that I have known for a long time but seeing them with new eyes so to speak.

So I want to share about what the Holy Spirit is opening up to me about Spirit led praying.

A scripture I want to start with is John 4:23, “The true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him”.

I’ve come to realize over the years that the Holy Spirit is my teacher, so I depend on him to teach me and give me his understanding and meaning about Spirit led praying.

“But the Comforter, which is the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatever I have said to you.” (John 14:26)

Notice in John 4 the Father is seeking true worshipers not just any old kind of worshipers. This will become clearer why being a true worshiper matters so much when it comes to being led of the Spirit when praying.

Now as you look back at John 14, you will notice one of the reasons the Father sent another helper, on the day of Pentecost.

That’s right!

He knew we needed not only a comforter, but a teacher and one who would remind us of all that Jesus said.

Just these two things alone:

1) being a true worshiper and
2) having the Holy Spirit as your teacher is indispensable when it comes to Spirit led prayer.

Leave a Reply

